職員

Dr. Melissa Karmen Lee 李林嘉敏 – Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Melissa Karmen Lee 李林嘉敏博士首席執行官 

作為加拿大華裔博物館的首任首席執行官,李林嘉敏在策展研究、項目領導、員工管理以及博物館規劃的製定和實施方面擁有廣泛而豐富的經驗。 

李林嘉敏2019 年搬回家鄉溫哥華,加入溫哥華美術館,擔任其教育和公共項目總監。她成功地重新審視了教育部門的各範疇,並開創了創新的數碼項目,讓大眾參與其中,增加他們對美術館 12,000 多件藝術收藏以及當代和現代展覽的關注。她是社區建設者,擴展了本地和國際機構之間的合作關係。作為資深管理領導團隊的關鍵成員,李林嘉敏參與了有關籌款、關鍵性營運重組和美術館整體的改革。 

從 2016 年至 2019 年,李林嘉敏是成立香港大館古蹟及藝術館(聯合國教科文組織世界遺產)的創始團隊成員,並被任命為教育和公共項目策展人。在此期間她獲得了管理新創藝術和文物博物館的寶貴經驗。在大館首年的公共項目中,她領導由全職員工和兼職講解員組成的強大團隊,向公衆提供超過 200 個項目。

作為一名卓有成就的研究學者,李林嘉敏曾於 2008 年至 2016 年在香港中文大學擔任高級講師,在此她為當代亞洲跨國主義和華裔僑民移民進行了廣泛的教學和出版。 2016年,她亦出任加拿大西門菲沙大學林思齊中心的駐校學者。 

李林嘉敏出生於加拿大溫哥華,即xʷməθkʷəy̓əm 瑪斯琴 (Musqueam)、Skwxwu7mesh 史戈米殊(Squamish) 和  səl̓ilwətaɁɬ 斯里華圖 (Tsleil-Waututh) 地區,擁有加拿大McGill大學的學士學位、新西蘭坎特伯雷大學的碩士學位和英國蘭卡斯特大學博士學位。 

李林嘉敏將與華裔博物館協會的董事會緊密合作,帶領員工邁進博物館的盛大開幕,並執行博物館的使命,以紀念加拿大華人在卑詩省的歷史、貢獻和活態文化遺產。 

鄭詠恒

Monica Cheng, 外展統籌

Monica負責華裔博物館的各種推廣外展工作,包括中英文營銷傳播,宣傳策略,並協助推行公共活動計劃。她曾在教育界的市場推廣和外展領域工作,並且一直在本地一家非營利組織擔任長期義工負責青年指導。 Monica擁有卑詩省大學歷史和心理學的學士雙學位,並且接受過營銷傳播和多媒體新聞學的培訓。在擔任此職務時,她很高興與不同的人士和組織接觸,以促進有關保存和學習加拿大華人歷史的對話與合作。Monica 閒時喜歡閱讀,特別是歷史小說,人情味新聞故事和地圖。


關詠茵

Winnie Kwan, 客戶服務及社區關係統籌

Winnie負責華裔博物館的各種社區活動,包括以英語,廣東話和普通話為參觀者提供現場服務,管理義工以及輔助教育和公共節目的發展。她之前曾在大溫哥華地區的其他非營利組織,其中包括為於唐人街的中山公園,從事活動開發和在社區的拓展。 Winnie擁有卑詩省大學的全球資源系統理學的學士學位,並輔修亞加及亞裔移民研究學。Winnie很高興能與社區建立聯繫,以探索有趣的和創新的方式來分享和保存加拿大華人社區的各種經歷,並支持公眾意識和學習加拿大華人的歷史。在業餘時間,Winnie喜歡寫日記,打理菜園,研究地圖和社會語言學的題材,並為華語娛樂圈做翻譯工作。


Sarah Ling

Sarah Ling展覽及項目經理

Sarah負責監督華裔博物館的開發和外展計劃的製定與執行 ,其中包括展覽,公共,教育和義工計劃。她擁有英國文學學士學位,輔修原住民和土著研究,以及卑詩省大學的跨學科研究碩士學位,並擁有以社區為中心的Musqueam原住民區華人和土著關係研究的背景。她在卑詩省北部的魯珀特王子港(Prince Rupert)市出生長大,她很高興與全省的個人和社區夥伴建立關係以支持華裔博物館的建設。她是溫哥華唐人街的積極義工,並擔任加華歷史協會的主席。她喜歡在大自然散步,和把握機會招待她的侄女,侄子和乾女兒。


Sophie Yamauchi

Sophie Yamauchi, 董事會管理員

Sophie與華裔博物館的董事會緊密合作,輔助協會和未來博物館的建立。 Sophie擁有卑詩省大學的人類學學士學位,女王大學的藝術管理研究生文憑及女王皇后大學的藝術領導學碩士學位。她是加拿大博物館協會的董事和低陸平原地區博物館教育會議委員會的成員。Sophie憑藉對學術和當地文化遺產的熱情,很高興參與協助建立加拿大第一個致力於華人歷史和成就的博物館。在華裔博物館以外,Sophie 投放時間與其他博物館專業人士合作,爬山,烹飪精緻的菜色以及夢想環遊世界。

Staff

Dr. Melissa Karmen Lee 李林嘉敏 – Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Melissa Karmen LeeChief Executive Officer

As the inaugural CEO of the Chinese Canadian Museum, Melissa has broad and considerable experience in curatorial research, program leadership, staff management, and the development and implementation of strategic museum planning.

In 2019, she moved back to her hometown Vancouver where she joined the Vancouver Art Gallery as the Director of Education and Public Programs. She successfully re-visioned all aspects of the education department by advancing innovative digital programming for diverse audiences to engage with the Gallery’s over 12,000-piece art collection, along with contemporary and modern exhibitions. She was instrumental as a community builder by broadening both local and international institutional relationships. A key member of the senior management leadership team, Melissa participated in decisions on fundraising, pivotal operational restructuring, and overall gallery transformation.

From 2016-2019, Melissa was on the founding team that opened Tai Kwun Centre for Heritage and Arts, Hong Kong—a UNESCO heritage site—appointed as the Education and Public Programs Curator through which she gained valuable experience managing an art and heritage museum start-up. In Tai Kwun’s first year of programming, Melissa led over 200 programs with a robust team of full-time staff and part-time docents.

An accomplished research scholar, Melissa has also held a senior lectureship at the Chinese University of Hong Kong from 2008-2016 where she taught and published widely on contemporary Asian transnationalism and Chinese diasporic migrations. In 2016, she was the scholar in residence at the David Lam Centre at Simon Fraser University, Canada.

Born on xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwu7mesh (Squamish), and səl̓ilwətaɁɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) territories in Vancouver, Canada, Melissa holds a BA from McGill University, Canada, an MA from the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, and a Ph.D. from Lancaster University, United Kingdom.

Melissa will work closely with the CCM’s Board of Directors and will lead staff towards the Museum’s grand opening, and execute strategies to fulfill the Museum’s mandate of honouring Chinese Canadian history, contributions, and living heritage in British Columbia.

Monica Cheng

Monica Cheng, Outreach Coordinator

Monica oversees various outreach functions at the Chinese Canadian Museum including marketing communications in English and Chinese, outreach strategies, and supporting public programs. She has previously worked in the areas of marketing and outreach in the education sector, and has been a long-time volunteer in youth mentorship with a local non-profit organization. Monica has a BA from the University of British Columbia with double majors in History and Psychology, and is trained in Marketing Communications and Multimedia Journalism. In this role, she is excited to reach out to individuals and organizations to foster dialogue and collaboration on preserving and learning about Chinese Canadian history. Monica enjoys reading, especially historical fiction, human-interest stories, and maps.


Winnie Kwan

Winnie Kwan, Visitor Services and Community Engagement Coordinator

Winnie oversees a variety of community-facing functions at the Chinese Canadian Museum, including providing onsite service to visitors in English, Cantonese, and Mandarin, managing volunteers, and supporting the development of educational and public programming. She has previously worked in programming and community development at other non-profit organizations in Metro Vancouver, including most recently, the Dr. Sun Yat Sen Classical Chinese Garden. Winnie holds a BSc in Global Resource Systems from the University of British Columbia, with a Minor in Asian Canadian and Asian Migration Studies. In her role, Winnie is excited to be connecting with the community to explore fun and innovative ways of sharing and preserving the diverse experiences of the Chinese Canadian community, and supporting the public to appreciate and learn about Chinese Canadian history. In her free time, Winnie enjoys journaling, gardening, “nerding out” over plants, maps, and sociolinguistics, and doing translations for the Chinese entertainment scene.


Sarah Ling

Sarah Ling, Exhibition and Program Manager

Sarah oversees the development and implementation of the Chinese Canadian Museum’s programs and outreach initiatives including exhibition, public, educational, and volunteer programming. She holds a BA in English Literature with a minor in First Nations and Indigenous Studies, and a MA in Interdisciplinary Studies from the University of British Columbia, with a community-centered research background in Chinese and Indigenous relations on Musqueam territory. Born and raised in Prince Rupert, northern BC, she is delighted to establish relationships in support of building the Chinese Canadian Museum with individuals and community partners across the province. She is an active volunteer in Vancouver Chinatown and serves as chair of the Chinese Canadian Historical Society of BC. She enjoys nature walks and opportunities to entertain her niece, nephews, and goddaughter.


Sophie Yamauchi

Sophie Yamauchi, Board Administrator

Sophie works closely with the museum’s dedicated board of directors to support the establishment of the Society and the future museum. Sophie holds a BA in Anthropology from the University of British Columbia, a Graduate Diploma in Arts Management from Queens University, and a MA in Arts Leadership from Queens University. She is a Director of the Canadian Museums Association and member of the Lower Mainland Museum Educators Conference Committee. Uniting her education and experience with her passion for local culture and heritage, Sophie is thrilled to help build Canada’s first museum dedicated to the history and accomplishments of the Chinese Canadian community. Outside of museums, Sophie spends her time climbing mountains, cooking elaborate meals, and dreaming of travelling the world.